Smile!

The first time I tried this sourdough recipe/method (no kneading, just folding every half-hour for hours on end) it was an unmitigated disaster which I eventually abandoned and turned into a regular loaf. I decided I must have done something wrong though so thought I’d give it another go. Three days after starting I can confirm that the method might be OK but the recipe is definitely wrong. Refusing to give up on it, I started adding more flour towards the end of day 2 and continued that in day 3, ending up with so much dough that I split it to make two loaves. But the dough was so overworked by then that it wouldn’t rise anymore and, loath to drag the whole thing into a fourth day, I just piled one on top of the other in a pot and stuck it in the oven. The result? A really dense, three pound, crusty, great tasting loaf with a mocking smile and a recipe consigned to the bin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.