You can leave

Well, what a day. My manager is continuing with her plan to leave. No word on our pay, maybe Sunday.
Then the owner asked to see me. Why won’t you sign your contract? It’ll cause me a problem if I’m paying you cash. Interesting because hardly anyone has a contract, just bank accounts because they’re local. I had to fight to get him to listen that I’d only just received it. What do you want he asked and talked over me. Then he asked again and talked over me. He was angry, we had an agreement. I employed you to do this. I had to battle to explain he didn’t. I have enough evidence. And he’s added more things to my 45 hour week which has been reduced to three days. A horrible meeting. You are free to leave if we can’t agree, he said. So I got up and left the room. Wait, he said. I’m taking a call. I went to my manager’s office and met someone who’d quit his job to start here. What’s he like, he asked. I was honest. My manager was honest as she tried to tell him that the owner had changed the conditions.
A Pilates class and chocolate, dates and pineapple for dinner. Bed. Exhausted.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.