Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Fremontodendron - California Glory

There was some debate on my social media the other day to identify a wonderful non-native tree growing in a neighbouring garden. It looks so un-Scottish. It is in the garden of an artist and the flowers are so vibrant yellow and seem to burst from the branches that I did wonder if they had been sewn on as an art installation. But no, they are real. I didn't post the photo on here that day but general consensus from various groups was that it was 'fremontodendron'.

Today I got to look up a big, fat Encyclopaedia A-Z of plants and find fremontodendron. Pretty sure we got the right plant and the example in question is pushing the boundaries of height and width for this species.

Reason I picked this photo today is because I was able, just with my phone camera, to point a click and photograph the encyclopedia page. Just like that! I have what 20 years ago would have been spy technology in my hands. And you can read every detailed word.

Quite amazing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.