Burland Broch

A stunning day of sunshine.  Lovely and warm, about 22 degrees, and up to 30 in the garden in direct sunlight.  Windy on west, flat calm east.  Shame the tourists are missing the fine spell.

I've had a busy morning working at my new desk.  Took the afternoon off, and working tonight.  Met mam and friend Julie at Minn beach again tonight, and after walking the dogs, we headed for a cuppa with Julie's mam.  Feet up for the night now. 

Before heading to mam's this afternoon, I headed for a walk.  There had been minkie whales, but I only heard after.  One of my favourite walks in Sandwick, and out to the old Burland broch.  It sits opposite Mousa, and would have been just as spectacular in it's day.  For survival, the broch was robbed to build the abandoned tounship close by.  Passing the Burland broch is the fishing boat Opportune LK 209 in Mousa Sound.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.