atoll

By atoll

War of the World

An early start to the day with a quick site inspection planned in Bacup at eight-o-clock before heading off for a bit more fly fishing escapism afterwards.

This then was the eerie looking scene, viewed early from the high ground above the town, and looking NE through the mist towards Reaps Moss, with Todmorden Moor beyond. I thought the wind turbine ‘giant’ in the distance had a War of the Worlds ‘fighting-machine’ look about it. This is apt, as the area around Rossendale Valley is actually known for being a bit of a centre for UFO sightings in the past. A nearby hill called ‘Top O’Slate’ even has it’s own UFO inspired public art ‘panopticon’ in celebration called Halo, and which I may have blipped about before. I read that Coronavirus has increased our UFO sightings recently, but COVID-19 is the only unwanted alien here.

As things turned out, I was actually in the wrong place (but at the right time): I had been given a slightly wrong postcode for my SatNav by Eddie-the-Builder, whom I was meeting. This is the second time in the last month that Eddie has given me wrong directions like this - although the view up here, as I found my bearings, was a real bonus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.