atoll

By atoll

Sirens Song

In over 30 years of solitary fly fishing here, I have kept an envious, watchful eye on this remote ‘fisherman’s hut’, set on the Beamsley side of Addingham Angling Association’s beat on the River Wharfe. I have actually never seen anyone walking or fishing on this bank of the river at all, let alone actually using the shed. But it has been silently watching over me during all that time: Calling me subliminally to wade across the river and visit, like a mischievous siren.

I don’t know what it is about the call of a nice shed that appeals to us men most, but the phenomenon has even evolved to a global movement these days. ‘Shedders’ meet in them throughout the world to share practical skills, and gain a sense of real community and wellbeing.

I love this shed. Don’t ask me why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.