ayearinthelife

By ayearinthelife

Under Pressure

There’s nothing like a global pandemic to concentrate the mind on your own state of health.
I was diagnosed with high blood pressure over ten years ago and eventually had to start taking tablets in an effort to control it. Since starting to exercise seriously about three years ago, I’ve seen the numbers come down. In fact, at the last review with my doctor we discussed trying to manage without the tablets. That was a year ago and a month long trial saw the figures go up - not to “pre exercising” levels, but high enough to go back on the pills.
Since lockdown started, I’ve been checking my blood pressure regularly as it’s one of the conditions associated with increased risk if you catch the virus. This also coincided with me doing more running as the gyms were closed.
Pleased to report that my BP is now usually around that shown in the blip picture. Of the three readings I took today, this wasn’t actually the lowest, but I liked the symmetry of it! (look at it upside down)
Annual review with doctor is now overdue, but I’m hoping it will happen soon. Would like to think that this year, at the very least, it will be possible to reduce the dosage of the tablets.
I’m going to take this as another positive to come out of the crisis. Stay safe everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.