Deer in the grass

I spotted this doe and young buck in the grass on the hill beside the road. They were on high alert but stayed still long enough for me to take a photo - not a good one though!  A good walk this morning, not much traffic on the road and only one other walker. We exchanged a few words and agreed it was wonderful to have some morning sun. 
Extra: I watched a crow enjoying its breakfast. It looked like it was washing the bits of clam it was pulling out of the shell. It didn't pay much attention to me. Usually they fly off as soon as I get closer.
It took me a long time to clean up the petunias after the damage done by the rain. We only have three baskets of them and it surprises me how long it takes me to deadhead, especially this time. They're looking pretty ragged, but I'm sure they'll flourish again once we get some warmth. I got the rest of the carrots thinned, only two short rows. Next thinning will be for young carrots, I think. 
A really nice day and it's supposed to get warmer this week. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.