Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

This afternoon I decided to get on my bike and go in search for a group of scarecrows I'd read about in the local paper.
Their position wasn't too clear (on 'the' road between village 'Á' and town 'B'), but I cycled off in the general direction and hoped for the best.
It later turned out that I'd gone in completely the wrong direction, but I didn'really mind, I cycled through some lovely countryside, and found a cafe where I had a warm chocolate drink, and a piece of apple pie. With cream. Oh yes!

I found the scarecrows in the end, there's a group of 800 of them; it was an art project set up last year to commemorate 800 years of the town's (Oisterwijk) existence. They've been up for a while now and are looking rather tatty, and slightly creepy; missing arms, heads, 'guts' hanging out, and faded clothing.
They're due to be dismantled mid-February, so I wanted to catch them before they left.

On the way back, it started to rain, I had rather strong head-winds, and fleetingly wondered what on earth possessed me to go out in this weather.
But now, sitting in dry clothes, hot cup of tea, and warm cat on my lap, I'm feeling rather contented. I was going to take myself to the local cinema tonight, but like Dorothy in the Wizard of Ox, there's no place like home, and I'll just stay put ;)

Here's the best of the rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.