The second half of life..

By twigs

Fungi

A relatively early get-up for me which was nice.  

After my now usual l-o-n-g breakfast (which takes in catching up on international overnight events, the state of the nation and words-with-friends games) it was out into the garden to do some hammering jobs.  I discovered at the weekend that a lower branch of a neighbours tree had begun to do damage to the fence.  I was able to remove the offending branch relatively easily so today was the fence fix part.  All good - didn't take too long at all.  I even found these wrinkly ol' fungi whilst I was doing the job.

I spent about 30-40 minutes coaxing and cajoling Minnie to use her new private back door and was thrilled when she went through it of her own accord for the first time.  Since then she's used it quite a few times so all in all, I'm very happy and very relieved.

In COVID news, the fallout continues over the muck-up yesterday - (ie the release of 2 people who'd arrived from overseas and done a short managed isolation but been released on compassionate grounds without first being tested for COVID).  They're still looking into whether it was a system failure of a personnel failure but in the meantime, Jacinda is taking no more risks and is bringing in a military leader to oversee the country's isolation and quarantine facilities.  She's justifiably mad, as many around the country are.  So now, we hold our breaths again for another 2 weeks or so to see whether any more cases emerge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.