The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Double figures

A girl down the road, my friend's daughter, who attended the afterschool club I once worked at, is ten today. I remembered in time to make a quick card for her. (There is nothing quick or space-saving about my crafts, which is why most of the stuff stays in the cupboard these days).

When we talked about birthdays the other night while I was babysitting, she said "I'm older that you!" because it turns out that her birthday is just before mine. I'd love to have that mindset: I remember telling my mother when I was a child that I was going to overtake her in age pretty soon! I was one of those kids that can't wait to be grown up, and welcomed the signs of physical change, and the advance of puberty. Little did I know...

I finished the card, and found my camera on the desk. I also found this copy of Prospect magazine, and reckoned they looked good together. Women, girls, and identity ... feel free to kick me into pseud's corner, I've been there so often I have my own seat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.