Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Round and Round the Garden

It's back to flowers for a blip again. 

This peony is having its moment, it won't last long. This one is a survivor of the original garden here, and I've no idea what it is. It's a rather violent magenta at the moment, but will fade to a pretty paler pink if the rain doesn't get to it first. If it threatens to, I'll rush out and cut it and bring it into the house, it has a most delicious perfume.

It was back to the weeding today, the soil is just about dry enough to get on to and the little blighters are coming out nice and clean.  

I planted my sunflowers, they are about two feet tall and should have been in before this, but I think they'll be ok. 

And I dug up a lot of clumps of iris sibirica which is spreading alarmingly. You can have too much of a good thing. They will have to go down into the Dingly Dell, where none but the brave venture, it really has just about reverted to  its natural state, all willows and brambles and nettles. I think this iris probably could out-compete the latter.

Maybe we'll go out tomorrow.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.