karisfitch

By karisfitch

Still

Went for a run this morning in Regent’s Park, that turned into a walk, that turned into standing still.
I’ve been challenged recently, that even my “rest” is fast-paced, and bears the pressure of being productive.

I wonder how much of Jesus I have missed because my mind and heart have been running at a different pace to His.

It was the thunder that made me stop for shelter. How true that can be of our own lives. I’d left my phone to play shuffle, and the next song that came on was “Still”:

“When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with you above the storm
Father you are king over the flood
I will be still and know you are God.”

It was a pretty fitting song to listen to, with the thunders roaring in the background!

Gratefuls:

1. My phone suffered some water damage in the process, so put it into rice when I got home...unfortunately one little grain got completely wedged into the charger port and would no longer charge! Thankfully Rebekah managed to prise it out with an earring, and got it working again...which means I can now use it to blip!

2. Making dinner with Hannah, and getting to know her better - hearing about her dreams, short term and long term.

3. The pouring rain.

4. Warm showers after being outside in it!!

5. Being able to keep in touch with friends back home - Esther, Bláithín, Bláthnaid. Especially thankful for voice messages! And for friendships that don’t change, even when you haven’t seen them in months.

6. The feeling of having done a satisfying deep clean of the flat.

7. New handsoap in the bathroom that smells really good!

8. That God is the author of fun. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.