Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Calm ...

Today felt calmer than many I've had in this strange era. The warmth helped - even the grey morning was benignly mild, and when the sun came out later it was truly and wonderfully warm. And like all the days just now, it seems to me now that it just slipped by, and I'm cudgelling my brains to think of what I did, other than the usual coffee, online chat, trying and failing to write anything good ...

I do, however, feel that I've achieved something in the last couple of days. The first was to update our Vodafone plans - something I realise now I should have done almost exactly a year ago. This, of course, is one of the ways phone companies rake it in - you settle on a plan, with an amount of data you think will suit you, and sign up, in my case, for two years. When the two years is up, they go on taking your money and telling you (as they have for the last two months) that you're about to run over your data allowance and they will charge you a mint for every extra byte you use until your renewal date. This month, it was Friday of this week. I mentioned it to my #1 son, telling him I'd been doing too much FaceTime in the garden where the WiFi doesn't reach terribly well, and he was appalled to hear what I was getting for my fees ...

Sot I now have unlimited data for the same money as I was paying for 2GB a month. (I think that's right). I did the same for Mr PB's phone. Result!

Apart from this little triumph, I reinstated my Apple Pay on my new (since lockdown) phone, and enjoyed a sedate but extremely lovely walk in a favourite place, full of scents and silence. And we had aperos outside in the garden and finished dinner in time to attend online Compline. And finally I pottered out when I was locking the front door and took tonight's blip - the sky to the northwest still beautiful at 11pm, with the spire of St John's silhouetted against it.

It will soon be midsummer ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.