... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Mont Blanc from La Plagne

I reckon that this large landscapes looks better in large!
This is Mont Blanc (the tallest mountain in Europe) from Roche de Mio in La Plagne. Roche de Mio is the highest point in the La Plagne ski area, but for the Bellecote glacier.
One of the great things about La Plagne is that it offers wonderful views of Mont Blanc from various places, so this magnificent mountain acts as a rather spectacular landmark and reference point. Because of the orientation of the border between Italy and France, it is actually the Italian face of Mont Blanc (Monte Bianco) that we see from La Plagne.

We had a lovely day's skiing today: the weather was not spectacular, but certainly offered interesting changes in lighting conditions, and the clouds (when they weren't hindering visibility) made the sky more interesting. It actually snowed gently for most of the day despite the fact that the sun was often visible. It was freezing cold though (-18C was the coldest reading that we saw, which was at Roche de Mio when I took this photo) so I feel fortunate that I still have all of my digits...

I took this on my father's compact Canon G9: he kindly lends it to me when I ski because it is easily pocketable but still takes satisfying photos. A very useful little camera! It currently has a fleck of something behind the front element of its lens, so there is a rather dramatic dark splodge (like a cigarette burn) on all of the photos it takes (especially if the aperture is small) which means editing them out of photos that I want to blip... Grrr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.