... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Frozen goggles!?

Ice texture/detail much better in large ("L").

Today was very mixed, and it would have been almost impossible to choose my blip were I not prioritising "irreproducible" photographs.
I'd say this qualifies as I've skied every year for the past 18 years, and this has never happened before; this morning, my goggles froze over!

The conditions this morning were fairly tricky: we awoke to find snow falling and clouds looming, so decided to go straight up to Roche de Mio ("the top") to see whether it was above the clouds. It wasn't; not at all... The visibility was shocking; we were right in the thick of the cloud.
It is lucky that we always ski in the same place; we chose to go down one of our favourite runs since it goes past Squidgy (my mother's favourite rock), and we know the run backwards. As we progressed, visibility seemed to become worse and worse until I was skiing almost blind: I could see less than 10m ahead of myself and would ski along hoping that the next piste-marker pole would appear before me to reassure me that I was still on the piste. There is a long uphill slope at the end of the piste so you need to schuss (crouch down and ski fast...) and I thought I'd just go for it and trust my memory... It worked: I knew that I had to be to the left of that large rock, and further to the left of that looming pylon. I survived, but when I got to the top I adjusted my goggles, and in taking them off realised that visibility was not that bad at all!? I could see right back to before the long schuss, where the cloud became thicker; the reason I couldn't see anywhere was that this thick layer of smooth ice had formed over the surface of my goggles. We stopped at a nearby cafe, and it seems that the ice was about 3mm thick! I took this photo as it was thawing by the window. I took photos as soon as we entered, but it is harder to see what is going on when it is a thick and consistent layer.
The goggles have a blue/purple reflective coating which could by this stage be seen shining through holes where the ice had melted through; it was most bizarre! Once it had thawed, we went out again, only for the ice to re-form (albeit less dramatically) so we called it a morning.

This afternoon was brilliant: the clouds lifted over lunchtime, and we skied absolutely miles with the light and conditions changing constantly. Our first runs were in the sun, the middles ones were dappled with light, and we eventually ended up in the clouds again. I got some wonderful photographs (landscapes, photographs of choughs wheeling on thermals, and action shots of my mother as we skied), but this is the most unusual.
I certainly hope this proves to be irreproducible!

p.s. Thank you SO much for all the positive feedback on my photo of Mont Blanc yesterday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.