BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 88

Imprisonment - Day eighty eight
Wednesday 17th June 2020

Cars - 33
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 3
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 3
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 13.1c

Another misty September morning in June. Visibility was quite poor so I nearly had put my lights on. There was only one flood but some of the lanes looked as if a bomb had hit them with all the pebbles and rubbish that the gushing water had pushed into the road.

I actually started and finished the door arches today like everything I've done on the Bentley it took longer than anticipated as I decided to scratch the paint off all the hinges which being nickel plated look a lot better and now stand out as a feature instead of hiding under layers of old paint. A quick bit of welding was the next job as part of the front nearside Hartford shock absorber had come adrift so I took it off and with a dab of the arc welder it was made secure I stopped from giving it a second dab as that usually ends in disaster especially if the first holds it well. I then cleaned up the wooden boxes which we use to store our camping equipment when we are on our Grand European Tours. I made these boxes which replace the rear seats because on one of our earlier trips the tonneau cover was opened by thieves who stole my case camera and phone. All I was left with was what I was wearing at the time and had to buy everything I needed to carry on with the trip. The boxes are lockable and have compartments for camping equipment clothes food and tools. I usually leave them in the car when we are at home as they are out of the way and we very rarely have more than two in the car and the boxes are also useful for security when we go on weekends away. With this done I have more or less finished the work on the Bentley when I look back since we returned from Athens last year and lost a wheel on the M40 I have worked non stop on the Bentley. Before Christmas I fitted three new hubs four new knock on spinners relined the brakes and the clutch as well as replacing the phosphor bronze bush on the end of the crankshaft. I also took off the rear leaf springs and had them re-tempered. I spent the last couple of hours giving the car a good polish. I enjoy polishing as I find it therapeutic and very rewarding when standing back and admiring the result of a bit of hard work. Tomorrow if the weather is fine I will have a Bentley photo shoot while it is looking at its best as when we start using it again it will soon start to get its old patina back.

Hayden got the results of his Corona test and he's fine Nevin and Ari have not got their results yet as there was some sort of mix up. They both seemed fine today in a video that Astra sent to Ros so I think they are both clear.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.