BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 87

Imprisonment - Day eighty seven
Tuesday 16th June 2020

Cars - 8
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 3
Dog walkers - 0
Walkers - 2
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 13.0c

I threw caution to the wind this morning and broke with my normal routine of cycling at seven and for a change set peddles at quarter to six. I saw no cars until I hit the main road just a mile from home. IIt was nice to three early like minded cyclist on the road all of whom said good morning. I also saw a hare sitting with ears bolt upright at the side of the road as he saw me he took off along the footpath with me following like a chasing whippet. After about a hundred yards he made a left right-angled turn and disappeared through a gap in the hedge to the open field beyond.

I spent most of morning making my mini leather toolbag and adjusting the pouch I made last week as I wasn't a hundred percent happy with the way it opened. It's a shame I have reached the end of the leather work as I have thoroughly enjoyed it. The sewing machine has now been cleaned and put away and it's a shame as I don't know when I will use it again.

In the afternoon I opened the Bentley passenger door to start painting the door arch when I noticed that the rubber door buffers (I'm sure that's not the right name but hey ho) had worn badly which causes the doors to rattle. So again having the time I renewed all but one on all three doors. I replaced the two buffers on the drivers door and one on the nearside rear door around five or six years ago. Fortunately I found the rubber block I used last time which I originally found lying in the road when cycling. I think it must have been part of a rubber bumper off a large a truck. I used my hole saw to cut five circular buffers then ground them to the correct size using my electric grindstone each one needed to be a, slightly different size so it was a matter of trial and error to get them to fit. Eventually they were all a snug and I was amazed how solid they make the doors when they are closed. No more rattle and bang. Tomorrow will definitely be paint the door arches day.

We had a couple of torrential rainstorms with the odd flash of lightning and crash of thunder. I'm blaming my friend Roger for this bad weather as when it was warm and sunny he said he needed rain for his allotment. Now every time it rains I think of him.

Roger also brought tidings of bad news as the only event not cancelled so far this year until today was the Chatsworth Country Fair. Roger had kindly organised our visit including reservation at the Premier Inn but today he informed us that this had all been cancelled. It's a shame as we like going to Chatsworth in the old Bentley.

We also heard from Hayden who told us that he and the kids have high temperatures. They have all been to get a swab test to see if it's Corona. Hayden said the army were in charge of the drive through Swab Station where all instructions were done by mobile phone Hayden had to stick the swab down his own throat and up his own nose I don't know what they did about the kids but I think Ari's temperature was 102f and they said take him to A&E if he does not get better during the day. Fortunately he perked up as the hours went by. I think Astra is being tested tomorrow although she did not have a high temperature. If it is the virus then the kids must have picked it up at nursery which they attended again last week. Time will tell.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.