BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 86

Imprisonment - Day eighty six
Monday 15th June 2020

Cars - 26
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 3
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 3
Runners - 0
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 12.3c

At last a nice sunny morning which stayed the course. There are still not many cars about in the mornings. I thought by now with some loosening of restrictions that the volume of traffic would increase accordingly. Although there are still more people than normal taking exercise.

As the sun was still out after breakfast I decided to ditch the work on the Bentley and spray our new old classic bed. It was a little déjà vu as I did the spraying exactly as I did before by taking the parts of the bed down to the Motor House and spraying it on the grassy area to the left using my old Black and Decker Work Bench shielded by a piece of cardboard as base. Whether I'm getting better at spraying I don't know but spraying the bed and the draw units seemed to take less time than previously. I gave the parts two coats of white paint the first was gloss and the second was a satin white. The satin white I used this time I made up myself as I'd ordered a tin of matt lacquer by mistake for the Bentley so I added the litre of matt lacquer to the remainder of the white gloss and added the smooth white left over from our bed. Keeping my fingers crossed I stirred this gooey concoction then added thinners to a ratio of 1:1. Then with fingers crossed more tightly I sprayed a draw unit and found that the finish once dry was better than the smooth white I bought specifically for the job last time . It was worth waiting for a hot bright sunny day as the paint dried quickly again as it did last time. The bedhead gave me the biggest problem as the rattle can undercoat I'd used after filling the blemishes reacted with the white celluose making it a yellow colour no matter how many coats I put on. In the end I used a thick spray of neat paint with no thinners added and this did the trick and blocked the undercoat coming through. By four o'clock the whole lot was put to bed so to speak and then I had the laborious job of dismantling the spray gun and giving it a good clean. After a few trips up and down the drive the parts of the bed were back on the landing where we will leave them to dry and cure for a few days while Ros buys a new memory foam mattress.

The saga of Ros' teapot has been solved as the 600ml one she received on Saturday was the first teapot I ordered off eBay arriving a month late. The 800ml Ros subsequently ordered off Amazon has not arrived yet so Ros had to eat humble pie and admit to the Amazon supplier that she'd made a mistake but at the end of the day she is a 600ml teapot up as eBay refunded the money as it was not received by the due date.

Tomorrow its back to the Bentley to get the door arches done after I have made a small leather pouch to fit another nook I have found in the Bentley cockpit. This pouch will be used to keep two small screw drivers one flat head the other cross head a pair of small pliers and a small pair of side cutters. These are useful little tools to have at hand and saves opening my big tool box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.