Inside out

Thursday 18th June 2020

So, when I said I would do anything to help my injured friend, I didn't expect this was part of the job description!

On Tuesday evening she heard a bird inside her chimney. The gas engineer can't come until next Tuesday so there was nothing we could do. This morning the phone went at 8.15am and my friend said that the bird had escaped from the chimney and was in her living room. As I drove round to the rescue I hoped it wasn't a pigeon. 

What I found was a juvenile starling. It had flown to the window so my friend had opened the small toplight and closed the curtains to contain it on the window ledge. I then had the job of trying to persuade it to find the window but it didn't understand. After a bit I did manage to gently capture it. It was so sweet. It was released back to freedom and was happy to hop around the garden a few moments before it flew off. Bless! 

That was an unexpected bit of excitement before the morning service. Fortunately, as it has been raining hard all day, it has also provided me with a blip!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.