A day in the life

By Shelling

Grimskär

I woke up unusually early and had a lovely breakfast in the morning sun. The task for today was cutting the grass, that usually takes about two and a half hours. 

I went to Kalmar, across the sound, to get some cables and adaptors and had a lovely lunch in town and then went to the ship-pilot cabin, now made into a beautiful café and restaurant. 

The view is magnificent from there, facing south I can see Öland to my left and the mainland to my right and in between an open horizon leading south. The small islet in my Blip is called "Grimskär". Long ago it was a place where criminals were executed and afterwards torn to pieces and hung up in order to warn everyone else. Later it has been an important part of the city defence from about 1600 when the fortification was built, till  1980 when it had served as a storage for defence-mines. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.