Transitoire

By Transitoire

Fleuve

So at some point during the previous evening and night, my throat decided that it would no longer work. Well what did this mean? Meant that I now have a rather husky voice and an inability to swallow without pain! No problem though, sightseeing won over feeling sorry for myself...

So Clare and I went off on another wander round Amiens, but this time around the canal and river system. This picture is taken from one of the many bridges of the city, I like the ripples emanating from the ducks. Coming from Caen, where the river is a pretty simple in an out affair with quite a few bridges over it, to Amiens where it always seems to be there is a bit of a shock! It seems everywhere you go you can hear running water! It is rather pretty though, although I wouldn't want to think what it does to the foundations of the houses right on it...

After our wandering we had a lovely lunch at a restaurant where the waiters cared whether we were happy or not (rather rare in France unfortunately!), with a lot of food...I mean, I love food and very much love finishing a plate but I had to admit defeat even with half a plate left! Also learnt in Amiens you have to ask for a café allongé rather than just an allongé like in Caen...a very perplexed waiter took my order and had to ask whether I mean a coffee or not! I've had such an amazing weekend, and I am so happy to be living with these girls next year...it's going to be awesome.

Lunch was followed by a quick pit stop at Clare's apartment to get my bags and then to the train station we went. Not much to report about the train journey, bar the fact that the trains were empty, clean, and that every time a ticket inspector comes along I panic - even though I have the right tickets! I think it's the fear of having something wrong with the ticket and then having to try and figure out in French what is wrong and what you have to do!

Recovery evening in order, going to drink lots of green tea and pray for my voice to return for tomorrow's teaching!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.