DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Behind the mask

I went to be face fit tested today; what an experience!
This has been really stressing me out this week; there’s so much information, I think I overloaded myself with it all. Plus the fact I work at 4 different practices, each with their own choice of masks. Although I got really good information from them all, it soon became clear that the best way forward was to sort myself out.
The fit test is relevant to ONE mask only, so I figured if I got my own masks to take with me wherever I am, that would be easier (and cheaper!!) than paying for multiple masks and tests.

The tester was lovely, he explained everything and spent about 20 minutes guiding me through legislations and the difference between masks, which then allowed me to make an informed decision as to which mask was right for me.

Then came the test. He said he would test my sensitivity without the mask first, saying a level of 10 (which he expected for me) would be a normal, healthy person and a level of 30 would be someone who smoked/drank heavily for years. Level 20 was somewhere in the middle.
I scored level 30!!!!!!!! He even tested himself to make sure he could taste it!
Having never smoked in my life and only being a moderate drinker, this worried me, but he put it down to my love of all things spicy!
The test followed and was pretty straightforward and of course, I passed.

I’m so glad I’ve got this sorted, I’m all ready for work on Monday now :-)

DQ x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.