Things are happening all around us.

Much of the time we do not see it and do not know about it.

Just as I did not know about Sycamore gall mites until I took this shot this morning. Then I came home and did a little research..

Sycamore mites are very small indeed. This variety is shaped like a tiny worm. They have four legs all at one end of their body.
All winter they hide in cracks and holes in the bark of the tree.
In Spring they emerge and begin to eat the underneath surface of the leaves. The leaves react and bulge upwards forming these tiny red galls on the upper surface. These are actually the shape of a tiny parachute, open at the bottom.

The mites move on during the time it takes for the galls to grow.
But then they come back and, you guessed it, they lay their eggs inside the galls. The eggs are thus protected from weather and predators.
At the end of the summer the new mites emerge and go to hide in cracks in the tree’s bark.

Now I never knew all that and when I am able to see my grandson again I shall be able to tell them about this secret world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.