Social Sunday

Our friends Liz and Genny came visiting today. I spent the morning preparing lunch, homemade creamy carrot, parsnip and coriander soup for starters, followed by Tamara's Ratatouille taken from Yotam Ottolenghi's vegetarian cookbook, Plenty. I love that book and have tried all sorts of recipes from it.

Liz and I polished off a bottle of red with the meal and we all slumped back to the lounge afterwards where we may have vegetated if the suggestion wasn't made to take Dylan out for an afternoon walk (in fact the suggestion came from Dylan I think).

We walked over to Holy Trinity Church then down to Lucy Mill's bridge. It was there I spotted the heron featured today. It was just standing on the bank intently watching the water, presumably waiting for a tasty fish to turn up. He let me take a couple of photos before flapping off up river.

If you want to see a picture of the finished meal (prior to serving) along with my copy of the recipe, see here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.