Bom

By Bom

Shadow

This morning G and I met up with A in her garden for a socially distanced chat, bringing our own portable chair, drink and snack. I was late as 10 mins before leaving the smoke alarm went off in my bedroom. After trying different things, I concluded it was a fault with the alarm and have now ordered a new one. Then about an hour after arriving it started spotting with rain, eventually becoming heavy enough to call it a day. It was still lovely to have a catch up. My photo was going to be G sheltering in A's lovely gazebo, but my new iPhone saved it as a tiny image for some reason. Not such a fun afternoon, steam cleaned the kitchen floor and cleaned the bird feeders. 

Day 96 / Day 88 of Lockdown / Day 19 of Step 2 (for my record only)
UK deaths up 173 to 42,461, with the R rate staying at 0.7-0.9. The big news was that the Coronavirus Alert Level has fallen to 3 meaning the epidemic is still in general circulation, no longer high or rising exponentially. Virus infections across the UK are falling by between 2 & 4% a day. ONS reports that men from black ethnic backgrounds are twice as likely to die with Covid-19 than white men - but still just statistical analysis rather than understanding why. I heard the other day that all hospital trusts were required to do risk assessments for their BAME staff, but not many had and little had happened as a result. 

The PM is sure all pupils can be back in school by September. He also announced a £1bn catch up programme for children who've missed out on schooling. I'm amazed how little work has been done by State pupils compared to private schools. My niece is a teacher and she rings pupils and parents - some of whom just aren't interested. On a This Morning phone in, a lot of the parents ringing in were saying their kids just ignored them when they told them to do school work. I know there are lots of reasons underprivileged kids can't do work (not least access to technology) and hopefully this fund will give them the much needed help they require.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.