Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

RSC

I cannot now remember when it was that the wide section of clearly marked pedestrian and bicycle access to Rochester Bridge was closed. I know it was open at Xmas 2018, but how soon after that it closed I have no idea. The result of that was the re-routing of my daily commute to work along the much quieter Rochester High Street. Both routes have their pros and cons for cyclists because cycle routes are not continuous in Medway and so it is generally up to the individual to decide where they feel safest, meaning that abuse is frequent from both pedestrians and drivers. Today on my ride home that side of the bridge had finally re-opened and so I crossed the river safely without upsetting anyone. I decided to continue along the logical route from that point and suffered no harassment because there were no pedestrians about.

And that meant that I passed the lovely Rochester Social Club for the first time in what seems like forever. The brick building on the left is the local pumping station. There is a wealth of social venues available in Rochester, all of which are supremely tasteful, so it comes as no surprise that I have never seen this one in use. But oh how I would love to find an excuse to hire it for a personal event. Why hire the historic George Vaults when there is a delightful pebble-dashed bike shed next to a pumping station on the A2?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.