BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day 90

Imprisonment - Day ninety
Friday 19th June 2020

Cars - 26
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 0
Dog walkers - 5
Walkers - 0
Runners - 2
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills ska - 0
Cyclinging temperature - 13.0c

It wasn't quite as soggy this morning. Double Dog looked like Little Red Riding Hood in her bright red anorak as her face appeared from under the hood to say good morning. Ginger Dog was also out again this morning. When I came upon the rough part of the lane where I thought I may have lost the speedo I slowed down to see if I could see it but as its black in reality there was little hope so I cycled on.

The continuing drizzle made it a difficult decision to go down to the Motor House but that's what I did. My first job was to switch one of the heaters on to take the chill out of the air. I cleaned off the Bentley's holiday wheels which were absolutely filthy after last year's trip. They always get knocked about from fixing punctures etc so I give them a spray with satin black paint from a rattle can. I managed to do all four years during the day in between showers. I also cleaned the trunk which fits to the rear of the car this was equally as dirty. The trunk is used for my cooking equipment whilst travelling. I cleaned the outside and usually give the inside a coat of weathershield to freshen it up. I wasn't able to do this between showers so hopefully I can do this tomorrow. Working on the trunk I remembered that the electrics stopped working during last year's trip. I stripped them down and found that the negative earth wire was corroded so I replaced it with a thicker wire which I did not solder as I've found even using no corrosive flux the solder still corrodes. It's simple 'no solder no corrosion' so any wires that need joining I use Quick Slice or Wago clips. During the afternoon I made an extra shelf for the cupboard I use to keep my stocks of bits and pieces. I then stuck some of the car badges to the wall of the Motor House that Ashley gave me for Christmas. He'd bought them with me at an auto jumble when he was about fourteen in the hope they would gain in value. He now can't be bothered with them hence I got them for my Christmas present.

Early this morning the memory foam mattress arrived for the bed so before I finished for the day we unpacked it and put it on the bed. Apparently it takes three days for it to remember what shape it should be. I'm still not happy with the headboard paint job so I will have another go at it tomorrow if the weather is OK. All this fuss for Ashley who only stays with us three or four nights a year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.