Willows future

This looks like a Silly Saturday blip. A week ago I cut down two types of hybrid willows growing as a screen in my front garden. They make a fast-growing, water-retentive grove gently wafting in the breezes. Part of their value in a garden is how they  soak up flooding water on that wet side of the garden. 
So, I put the cuttings in a bucket of water to get them to root. They rest against the side of the house, lookin rather 'silly' with dead leaves not green.  Lo and behold, it has taken less than a week to see them growing roots 3 inches long in the water. 
The timing was not good because the willows had already been leafing out and we were experiencing heat in the 80's. The help I needed to saw the thicker branches only arrived after dormancy ended.
Now they look a little silly/strange leaning against the house. Upon closer examination, not only do I see the many roots growing under water, but new green leaves have started where the brown dry ones have been. Next week my gardener and I can start planting them out.
These young trees are to be some of the replacements to the back garden massacred mature pine trees the neighbour removed a few months ago. 
Today I am going to shop for a few mature arbor vitae plants to get a few evergreens along the border too. They will provide some winter privacy to my house.
June 20th-- is this the first day of summer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.