Rise and shine early

Alarmclock at 2.30 am!
I actually didn't go to bed at all. I stayed downstairs and slept a few hours on the couch. I didn't want to wake Annemarie with my silly plans in the middle of the night.

Yesterday evening I was asked by Richard to join on a photoshoot. It's been a long time since we've been on a proper dawn patrol. He chose the dawn of the (almost) longest day (and therefore shortest night) to pick up where we left. Oh man!
But of course I joined him. When it comes to photography I hardly ever say no.
Peter joined us too.

I picked him up at 02.50 and at 03.00 we met Richard who was waiting for us at the train staion in Appingedam. We drove in separate cars to the National Park Lauwersmeer and arrived at 04.00.
Richard treated us with coffee and a 'kano' and after that we all went our way to capture the tiny lighthouse and the rising sun.

It was great to be out there. Silent, nice temperature, no wind and a beautiful location. 
Once the sun was well above the horizon, we packed our stuff, had another coffee (plus kano again) and then went to Lauwersoog harbour for a new session.
I ditched my tripod and focussed on the common terns. Lots of them were flying by, catching small fishes. Even a seal was swimming by.

Around 07.30 we were done. Time for breakfast! But, nothing was open yet. One solution: We drove to Winsum, and bought a few pistolets, cheese and a chocolate milk at the Albert Heijn-supermarket.

Home again around 09.30.
Already 7 hours into my day... I layed down on my bed and before I knew it 2 whole hours went by...  lunchtime!!

Should do this more often!! Sunrises are so special to witness.

Because I now can, I've added extra photos as well!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.