Silly B

The only thing silly this Saturday has been me persisting in trying to take a decent photograph that just didn’t want to be taken.
 
For a few years now we have had a colony of Wood Bumble Bees taking it turn with the sparrows in one of our nesting boxes.  Normally they have been and gone in a couple of weeks or so, but this year they have been in residence for a couple of months.
 
Anyway, I decided to snap the multitude of bees hovering around the nest/box entrance waiting for a young queen to appear, with a corny strapline about sex mad/starved males doing what boys do.  Unfortunately their numbers were small, and I couldn’t get a decent shot anyway, even with the flash.  So I tried for a closeup of the box entrance.  No way was I going to get ‘that close’ to the nest, and even with the 600mm zoom results were poor to say the least.
 
So in the end I have given up and here is a collage of a shot of a few bees waiting, and three grainy cropped shots of the nest entrance.
 
 
Many thanks to Admirer for hosting Silly Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.