Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Taking the Floor ....

I learned Scottish County Dancing at school in Edinburgh,  and never gave it a thought when those days were done. To me it was a branch of PE, not a social activity.

30 years later I discovered that around us (in Yorkshire), people were reeling and jigging every night of the week. I was surprised. I was even more surprised when I suggested to TM that we should go along and give it a whirl, and he said OK.

We've been dancing, off and on, ever since. Till now, when of course it has all stopped. It must be a sure-fire way of transmitting the virus ...

I had an email from a friend from those dancing days in Yorkshire this morning. It set me thinking of the fun we've had with it over the years, the places we've danced, the people we've met. We bought this little figurine as a joke really, for a mutual anniversary present a few years back. It's what a potter we know would call 'fresh and direct' which is a kind way of saying, a bit chunky and unsophisticated. So I wasn't flattered when a visitor asked if we were the models for it ....

Thanks, Admirer, for continuing with Silly Saturday and helping to cheer us all up :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.