YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Saturday - sorting.

This box came with an Aboriginal Art pendant from my penpal in Melbourne.  I like the design and the box is padded inside and out.  We have written to each other since we were 14, and in many ways our lives have mirrored each other’s - except that she has 7 children and I have 2!  Her son says I’m classed as family. I called to see her when I was in Australia, but she was in Queensland!  I hadn’t given her any dates as we were driving around and not making specific plans.  I’ll just have to go back one day! I found this as I have been sorting boxes of jewellery.  How I have come to accumulate so much I have no idea, but I rarely alter what I wear unless I have a big night out (those were the days!). Much of what I have is unworn, and a lot of items came from my mother’s - guess they will be what is now classed as vintage as many are from the 1960’s.  There are lots of single earrings, which I know I have the pair to - somewhere!  Still a box to go!  Trying to find items my granddaughter might like, and also photographing items of any value.  What a faff!  Memories too. Came across a necklace and earrings given to me by a Greek boyfriend when I lived in Athens for a short while in 1975.  There is a key on each item - supposedly “keys to my heart” and I was supposed to return - oh the heady days of young love - sigh. :-0)).  I did return in 1980, but with my husband (fickle!).  Short visit from daughter and grandchildren - not long after we got chairs out in the garden there was a shower of rain.  Of course shortly after they left the sun returned!  Lovely to have a visit from friend and Blipper AuntieP too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.