HClaireB

By HClaireB

The last petal

Poppy pod revealed.

In London last week I was struck by how many people were wearing masks, you don't see them much in the country lanes round here.  Given what visual animals we are, a mask makes a huge loss in the information we gather about people.  I felt quite intimidated by the apparently impassive people away from whom I was trying to keep 2 metres on the pavements.

I am pleased to see that lots of suppliers have woken up to the growing market for not purely functional masks - plain masks, pretty ones, designer masks, funny ones.  I was tempted today by a plain white mask with a large smiling female mouth wearing bright pink lipstick.  I thought it might make me look friendlier.  On the other hand, I would never wear lipstick so bright in "real life", so I gave the luscious lips a miss.

I am a trustee of a society called the Decorative Arts Society and our hero is William Morris.  Today I found some masks made out of William Morris designed fabric, and those I have ordered.  Next time I go to a trustees meeting, I will be appropriately masked.  All I need to decide now is what is an appropriate mask for a photographic society meeting.  Any suggestions?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.