KatesGardenPDX

By KatesGardenPDX

Another Very Long Day

But the BEST news is that my mom made it through the surgery this morning just fine. She'll be in a sling for 8 weeks and in short term assisted living at their retirement community for at least a month if not longer. We're all hugely relieved, but the road ahead will not be an easy one since she'll require round-the-clock care, which my dad cannot provide. 

I got to see my dad today for the first time since early March. We sat out on the patio, I with my mask and distance...he doesn't care. My sister came around for a bit too, so it was really nice to see my family in person. I think tonight we'll all sleep a lot better. I'm not ashamed to say that I shed a lot of tears yesterday not knowing what the outcome of the surgery would be.

I FINALLY finished up the last of my remote plant ID class just now....and just in time for my first Zoom class tomorrow morning! Phew. It should be much easier from now on.

I took several "brain breaks" this afternoon in the midst of the last bits of course prep. It was a really pretty afternoon and the garden is growing like crazy after a very warm Friday and a lot of rain. And the dragon flies are back! Actually this one has been ID'd as a Widow Skimmer - what a beauty! She posed for me for quite a while on this stake in the garden. I also saw an amazing green one, but I didn't have my camera with me at the time.

Thank you all so much for your heartfelt comments and support for yesterday's blip about my mom. It meant the world to me. Once again I am reminded of what an incredible community this is and I am so grateful to be here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.