BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - 92

Imprisonment - Day ninety two
Sunday 21st June 2020

Cars - 8
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 2
Dog walkers - 0
Walkers - 1
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Cycling temperature - 12.6c


Just a normal Sunday Morning cycle ride with no familiar faces.

The weather picked up again after breakfast so I washed and leathered off Ros' car before jet washing the underside of the Austin Seven ready for undersealing. The poor old Austin Seven looked like a barn find when I drove it out of the Black Garage. It was covered in dust and dirt as it had not been used since last October 2019 when we used it for the Midland Austin Severn Club's 'Autumn Leaves Run'. After jet washing I coated the underside with rust cure and with a bit of elbow grease and polish soon had the car gleaming again. It just needs the inside Hoovering which I'll do tomorrow. Whilst polishing I stopped to swap a steel nut on the overtaking mirror for a brass one. The brass nut I found had the wrong thread and would tighten so far up then give way so I ran some solder down the threads and it then tightened up fine. In between doing all this to the Austin I continued to spray Ashley's bedhead I kept spraying thin coats letting them dry and then sprayed again to build up several layers of paint. This seems to have worked and most of the blemishes have been covered up. Tomorrow I will spray a layer on silk white for the final finish.

During the morning my friend Robert rode over on his e-bike to say hello. He's had this bike for a year now and is having to pay to have extensive work done to it. When he asked why this work needed to be done the repair man said you have used it too much people don't usually cycle 3,800 miles in a year. Fortunately for Robert some of the work is under the two year warranty.

Well after 3 months of imprisonment we are still doing well. This week has been harder for me as the weather has been so bad. Most of the things I enjoy doing are done outside and if it rains I'm snookered. I'm glad I painted the bed on Monday as it was the only decent day we had this week. Had the weather been this bad for the 92 days the Bentley would not be finished. I've still got plenty to do so however long this imprisonment goes on I'm still sitting pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.