Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Grebe

Sunday was a relaxing day. A bit of reading, a bit of computing, watched our recorded church service, even managed a dod of ironing, and had a chat with my cousin on the phone. Watched the Everton v Liverpool football match on TV in the evening, but that was a bit of an anti-climax, with the action as sparse as the crowd.

In-between all this I walked down the main road to Bonnybridge and nipped into Scotmid for a few things, returning home via the Canal. I was still Blipless at this stage, but planned to take some photos of the wreckage of the former Underwood Lockhouse for the Derelict Sunday challenge.

However, on my way back home, I noticed some splashing about on the opposite side of the Canal not long after leaving Bonnybridge. When I stopped for a closer look, discovered it was some young goosanders Little Grebes diving for food, swimming back to mum and repeating the exercise over and over again (main photo plus extras). Watched them for what seemed like ages and tried to get a few snaps of the fun. Underwood Lockhouse will have to wait another day. It's not going anywhere soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.