Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

A call to arms

Saturday, and my regular chat via Zoom with friends. Two of them are secondary school teachers in different parts of the country, so there was much discussion over their respective returns to their places of work when the school buildings re-open in August. In between their deliberations, I managed to grab a few words with one of my other friends about the restart of the football season in England.

Although, paradoxically, we have been 'seeing' one another far more frequently during lockdown than we would in 'normal' circumstances, it will be good to meet up with them in person when it is deemed safe to do so.

And then it was time to catch up with everyone's Blip journals. I was surprised and pleased to note that I wasn't as far behind as I thought I was, but it was good to read all your news and see your photos all the same.

A few things to do around the house, plus a bit of reading, and it was time for my walk. Still bright sunshine, and although the temperature had dropped by 5.30pm, it was still shirt-sleeve weather. Thirty minutes took me to Chacefield Wood, near Denny (see extras) where I provided some nutrients for at least one biting insect, possibly a cleg (or horsefly). I felt this pin-prick pain in my arm and looked down to see this tiny bubble of blood. (So much for going out in a short-sleeved shirt!) A small bump appeared on my forearm a while later, but nothing else came of it and all was back to normal soon afterwards.

The rest of my walk was insect-free (as far as I could tell) and, although I took plenty of photographs of the trees and the shadows, the only flower that I managed to capture was the honeysuckle which swayed back and forward in the breeze. After numerous attempts produced only blurred images, I got today's Blip by holding the branch in one hand and taking the photo on my mobile phone using the other.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.