Marik_i

By Marik_i

Peaceful day

Last Friday the vet nurse gave me permission to give Maija a dose of the pain killer over the weekend until I could talk to the vet.

Today the vet asked about Maija's condition and whether the medicine had made any difference, and whether I would think that she is in pain. I couldn't really answer because I hadn't noticed any difference. I had just thought that maybe the medicine would make her feel better...

Even though I had to admit that she wasn't in pain, I said that the blindness and the deafness were the main cause of her discomfort. The vet's word was that there is unfortunately very little that can be done. The reason is old age and for the blindness, high blood pressure. 

She seems to slowly adjust to the blindness. I noticed today that she is beginning to find her way around - though not always to the litter tray. 

The vet wrote a prescription for the Metacam painkiller just in case the situation would change. But now we will just continue as is, eat and sleep.  And at the same time I will get used to having some extra corners and floor areas to clean up. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.