tempus fugit

By ceridwen

For Paula, Cedric and Elizabeth

This rainy day blip has been inspired by PaulaJ's  blip today which you really have to look at to 'get the picture'.

When I saw it I immediately recognised the book by  celebrated cookery-writer Elizabeth David and the painting by the Welsh-born artist Cedric Morris which adorns the cover. Cook and artist were contemporaries, both Bohemian types who lived their lives without regard for convention during the middle decades of the 20th century. 
Elizabeth acquired the painting which is called simply The Eggs in about 1953. It is now in the Tate Gallery which provides some background on Cedric here. 

This painting has always especially appealed to me because my parents had a very similar old slip ware dish, actually a serving dish divided into two parts, which made its appearance at every family meal loaded with my father's home grown veg. And I still have it! It's probably pretty old* because almost nothing my parents had was new. 

So, in homage to Paula, Cedric and Elizabeth I have filled it with our hens' eggs and reproduced the painting on the cover of the book in Paula's blip.

*OMG I've found its exact twin and you will not believe how old it actually is - gobsmacked!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.