Bertie Bear

Bertie Bear, named after Bertram my paternal grandfather, is a Father’s Day gift for my dad handmade by my friend Debs D. He loved the bear who will sit in his newly refurbished office on a reading chair (at least when the office is finished as it’s currently piles of books). Bertie is holding onto dad’s new Spitfire mask handmade by another friend Kim.

I baked rhubarb cake today and sewed two gifts for my bro and bro in law. We ate steak and watched Hurricane, a film about the Polish fighter pilots in WWII.

I felt sad this evening when I had to leave. The bubble bursts when I go and it’s back to social distancing from all human contact which continues to feel isolating. It’s not natural and I feel a bit sad inside. I understand it’s for our safety but I worry for the mental health of all single households. It’s not healthy long term to live in this way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.