Wahoo!

I got my temps, grandma! Stay off the roads.

So said the text message I received from my younger granddaughter (and youngest grandchild) yesterday. In Ohio, students can get their temporary driver's license (We used to call it a "learner's permit") when they are 15 and one-half years old. Emmy will turn 16 at the end of April.

My one word response to the text was, "Wahoo!" After all, what can a grandmother say to such exciting news? Running through my mind was the thought, "Didn't her mother just get her temps? For that matter, didn't I just get mine?" Actually I guess it just feels that way because time has a way of rushing headlong into the future and compacting everything in between then and now, or so it seems to me.

So after church this morning, I posed Emmy next to a well-lit window and snapped this blip so we would have a reminder of this milestone in her life. Congratulations, Em! Drive safely!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.