Suddenly I See

Devouring a Scorpion Fly at a pace and with relish. 

Seeing the Emperor shoot out over the pond and successfully capture something, circle around and land to eat as I'd hoped was great. I had my 500mm on my lap, leant precariously into the small pool and took as many shots as I could. Thankfully. It was only on getting home that I could see for myself what the victim was.  Suddenly, it became clear how useful having your legs behind your ears actually is, as he used them as hooks to secure the wings close to his mouth on and off throughout the eating process. Tricky things wings.

Early doors this morning to get to Trench Wood, the first time this year, and saw so many species it was unbelievable. Focusing in on a fritillary I heard the call from the other side of the pond and saw Jill whom I hadn't seen since our owling exploits in the winter so we had a lot to catch up on. Great to see her!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.