Life in Canada

By MissMacPic

Busted

I have been desperately wanting to photograph this beaver out of the water. I think I must have about 50 photos of him swimming...

I heard a commotion over by his house (blackbirds) and figured it must be him, the muskrat, or a mink, so I snuck over.  In the water, I spotted his head....so crouched down in the reeds and waited....and waited...and waited.  Well rewarded when I saw him making his way onto land.

Then he ducked behind a lovely bush so he could grab some delicious greens, so I quickly positioned myself to get him when he returned to water. However, in all the excitement of getting my phone out to video tape at the same time, I forgot that my lens was fully extended....why this is so close up and not quite in focus.  Poor guy was obviously terrified when he saw me so close! I was about 5 ft away from him.  No crop needed...

I left there immediately as I believe I frightened  him enough. Came across this lovely muskrat (likely a Spring baby by the look of its nails) who was enjoying the clover immensely!

Now it is raining a bit...yay!!  We do need it!

Take care everyone...

D x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.