All the reds!

I love this frenetic poppy which has opened amongst the red shrub roses this morning. 
 I never quite know where they will pop up after I shake the dried seed heads of last year's flowers in the borders. 
I can see them as they  begin to grow and leave them be. 
There are some tall ones and some small ones. 
I watched the sparrow family as they were feeding their growing fledglings on the bottom lawn earlier.
Breakfast outside.
It will be hot this afternoon with temperature of 30C. 
The topsy turvy English summer weather.
Yesterday afternoon I had a lovely time catching up with two of the friends I normally have a Whatsapp video chat with each Tuesday. One other could not make it.It was a such a perfect day, 
It was so good to be with them even if socially distant. I've cheated and put a photo of them in extras, to mark the occasion.   
We spent two and  a half hours together. Hubby went out for a bike ride! 
Just now the patio door is wide open and the blackbird has come for a drink in the bird bath just by the window. 
I've just cleaned out the other two bird baths and put in fresh water from the rain barrel. 
Cleaned and mopped the bathroom.
The kitchen floor will be next. It will dry in no time.    
Stephen has had work calls this morning. 
I'm shortly going to make a cup of tea and sit outside at the table, under the parasol before we have our lunch outside. 
Another of our friends is coming to have dinner with us this evening, and this time we will be out of doors.
Such a pleasure!   
  

  
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.