The second half of life..

By twigs

Hitchkiker's guide to the Sounds

After a decent night's sleep where I'm pleased to say I didn't get woken and asked to move I thought that I'd enjoy this place more at another quieter time of the year so decided to head back and check some other Sounds spot out.

Had breakfast overlooking French pass itself - a mean streak of water with the most amazingly strong current ripping through between D'Urville and this arm of the mainland. Quite a contrast to the serenity of the rest of the Sounds. I even shared my breakfast time with a couple of cheeky wekas (what is it with me, breakfast and birds?!)

I wasn't more than a few kms down the road when I spotted what looked like a man walking along the road with a pack on his back (I'm 40kms from the nearest settlement at the end of a long and very dusty road). I pulled over as I neared him. The young man told me told me he works on the mussell boats and had just been dropped off at French Pass at the end of his 4-day work stint. Someone was coming to pick him up from Cissy Bay - about 20kms along the road - but they weren't expecting him until about 4.00pm! He seeemd like a very polite and genuine young man so I told him to put his bag in the back and I'd give him a ride to the Cissy Bay turnoff. As we neared the turnoff he asked to be dropped off saying that it would save him walking along the road if he just went down the hillside where we were and joined the road below. It looked pretty steep to me but he said he'd be fine. He shook my hand, said thanks then headed down the hill. I watched to make sure he didn't fall and end up rolling to the road - I needn't have worried.

Further along the road I detoured a little into Elaine Bay and was almost tempted to stay there for the rest of the day. The lack of a waterfront parking spot changed my mind for me (I am getting very fussy about where I like to
stop!) so tonight I'm back in Okiwi Bay at a Park Over Property - right on the waterfront! Still too many peoplpe for my liking but it's a pretty wee spot - and I even managed to get in an after dinner walk which was nice.

Still no rain though the clouds seem to be gathering. Maybe tonight???

I wonder where I'll be tomorrow?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.