Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Mother and Child Reunion

I again woke early - gosh it was warm overnight - and headed back to where I'd seen the deer yesterday.  This time I was locked and loaded with 750mm of telephoto lens, if needed.

I saw them in the field but a direct approach wouldn't have been in my best interests so I swept around the local footpaths so I could approach upwind and under cover.  It was worth it as I managed to get within a few metres of the herd as they grazed.

It was lovely to see the young calves with their mothers.  Regrettably, it is almost impossible to capture images without them becoming aware of my presence, so they drifted off across the pasture and into deep undergrowth after a few minutes.

I again saw the deformed yearling calf amongst the other deer and again, one of the hinds forced it away from the rest of the herd.  There must be something innate about this behaviour, a base instinct to marginalise anything seen as abnormal.  

Day Miles: 3.6 Miles. Total Miles: 831.9 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.