Journeyman

By AFoolOnTheHill

Fisherman's Blues

What a turnaround with the weather, wall to wall sunshine and heat, such a lovely day to visit the Burns Unit to have my wife's dressings changed for the first time. She was concerned at having them removed, suffice to say it wasn't pleasant, I think traumatic is a good description, back on Friday for next round.

My album of the day is "See The Light" by Jeff Healey. A talented musician with a distinctive style, playing a Stratocaster flat on his lap allowed him to produce his own unique sound. Blinded as a one year old due to a rare form of cancer didn't stop him being an impressive guitarist, the songs are bluesy, energetic and tastefully played. My favourite tracks are "Confidence Man" and "Don't Let Your Chance Go By", sadly he died at age 41.

On this day in 1976 I saw Slik in concert. Who I hear you say ? One of the local Glasgow bands I followed in my teenage years was Salvation, they changed their name to Slik and had a number one with "Forever And Ever" in 1976, knocking ABBA off the top spot, the lead singer was Midge Ure, who moved on to Rich Kids, Thin Lizzy, Ultravox etc etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.