Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Bad hair day...or not

I think this is a young male cardinal who was enjoying some seeds while I was enjoying how he seemed to be posing with his new hairdo!    The wind was blowing just enough to ruffle it up.

I worked today but as I was getting ready to leave the rain came in buckets and buckets.  We could not even see out to the road which was just a few feet away.    I finally was able to leave a half hour when the rain lessened but wow...the road was flooded in several places.   As I came out of the parking lot at the office the water was standing almost all the way across the road as the storm drain could not cope with the volume.  When I went about three blocks, there were police in the road directing traffic as the area to the left of the light was flooded and two cars appeared to be stalled.    Another area was scary as the water was coming down a steep grade right into the middle of the road.  I made it through that one thinking that might be the last but no...one other place had water several feet deep across the road.    Once I got out of town toward home there was no more standing water.    Thankful that I have a Jeep that sits up high off the road.   I surely feel for those people that drive low to the road cars.    

Thankful for the rain at home that watered my tomatoes and flowers!!  

In the bathroom remodel saga, we have a plan.  Jerry found a guy who resurfaces fiberglass tubes and guarantees his work for years.    He has been in business for about 30 years so we feel confident in what he says.  The cost of doing this is half what it would be for a new tub and enclosure.  I have just about decided on the paint color I want so I can paint before he comes in two weeks.   He will complete the work in a day but we cannot use the tub for 48 hours.   So Jerry is going to hook up the camper so we can shower out there for two days.     Exciting times here at the house!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.