Calling For Rain

It's always struck me as rather a strange expression. As if the forecast were a person and able to make such a request. In any case, upon seeing rain in the forecast, I went out early to make my photographs and avoided getting wet.

The lake surface was calm enough to give some nice reflections and with overcast skies, details in the trees on the far shore were clearly visible. Everything looks very green now; I hoped for a red boat, but none came.

Shortly after this the wind picked up and thunder rolled in, followed by a downpour. But we didn't get all of the rain that was called for.

Using a longish focal length to compress the image, I was able to reduce the amount of water showing in the frame and connect the near and far shores.

Extra: spiderwort and fly. The meadow is coming to life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.